Blow the Wind Southerly….

File:Kathleen Ferrier.jpg

This beautiful Northumbrian song is best known in the version sung by Kathleen Ferrier here.  Her life was tragically cut short at the age of 41 when she died of breast cancer. Her music remains well-beloved.

Blow the wind southerly, southerly, southerly,
Blow the wind south o’er the bonny blue sea;
Blow the wind southerly, southerly, southerly,
Blow bonnie breeze, my lover to me.

They told me last night there were ships in the offing,
And I hurried down to the deep rolling sea;
But my eye could not see it wherever might be it,
The barque that is bearing my lover to me.

Blow the wind southerly, southerly, southerly,
Blow bonnie breeze o’er the bonny blue sea;
Blow the wind southerly, southerly, southerly,
Blow bonnie breeze, and bring him to me.

Oh, is it not sweet to hear the breeze singing,
As lightly it comes o’er the deep rolling sea?
But sweeter and dearer by far when ’tis bringing,
The barque of my true love in safety to me.

Fishing sardine boat - Maxime Maufra

Maxime Maufra

Image rights here.

This entry was posted in Art, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

