The Seven Sacraments

Nicolas Poussin (a #savedpoussin, I hope) painted all seven Sacraments in two sets of works.  Of the series owned by the Dukes of Rutland, the work on Penance was destroyed in a fire but the other six survive. So, I have mixed them up a little. Your Sunday evening test is to name them, in order.  And, the answer to whether one can receive all seven Sacraments in one’s lifetime is Yes – if you are male, that is 🙂

Baptism - Nicolas Poussin

Penance - Nicolas Poussin

Eucharist - Nicolas Poussin

Confirmation - Nicolas Poussin

Marriage - Nicolas Poussin

Ordination - Nicolas Poussin

Extreme Unction - Nicolas Poussin

This entry was posted in Art, Catechism, Catholic, Christ, Christianity, Faith, God, Mass, Seven Sacraments and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s