Swaddling

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; before you were born I set you apart…” Jeremiah 1:5

It is not only in the Nativity story that swaddling clothes are mentioned in the Bible:

[4]Where wast thou when I laid up the foundations of the earth? tell me if thou hast understanding.[5] Who hath laid the measures thereof, if thou knowest? or who hath stretched the line upon it?[6] Upon what are its bases grounded? or who laid the corner stone thereof, [7] When the morning stars praised me together, and all the sons of God made a joyful melody? [8] Who shut up the sea with doors, when it broke forth as issuing out of the womb: [9] When I made a cloud the garment thereof, and wrapped it in a mist as in swaddling bands? [10] I set my bounds around it, and made it bars and doors:[11] And I said: Hitherto thou shalt come, and shalt go no further, and here thou shalt break thy swelling waves. (Job 38 4-11)

640px-WLANL_-_Pachango_-_Allard_Pierson_-_Terracotta_Etruskisch_beeld_van_een_ingebakerde_baby

Etruscan Votive Offering – 3rd Century BC

 640px-Elizabethan_Sisters_Babies

The Cholmondeley Sisters and their Swaddled Babies, 1599-1603

File:De Wikkellkinderen.jpeg

De Wikkelkinderen (The Swaddled Twins), Artist unknown, painting dated 7 April 1617

640px-Der-gewickelte-Prinz

The swaddled Prince of Urbino in the cradle, Federico Barocci, 1605

 

Werner_Neuhaus_ZwillingeWerner Neuhaus, Zwillinge (Twins) b.1934

Ambrogio_Lorenzetti_021

Ambrogio Lorenzetti, 1319

And, in Job’s lament, he still reminds the Lord that it was God who put him together in his mother’s womb:

[8] Thy hands have made me, and fashioned me wholly round about, and dost thou thus cast me down headlong on a sudden? [9] Remember, I beseech thee, that thou hast made me as the clay, and thou wilt bring me into dust again. [10] Hast thou not milked me as milk, and curdled me like cheese? [11] Thou hast clothed me with skin and flesh: thou hast put me together with bones and sinews:[12] Thou hast granted me life and mercy, and thy visitation hath preserved my spirit. (Job 10 8-11)

Etruscan image rights here.

This entry was posted in Art, Culture, Family, History, Love, Old Testament and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

