Noli Me Tangere – The Feast of Saint Mary Magdalene

 

Jesus saith to her, Touch me not; for I am not yet ascended to my Father; but go to my brethren, and say to them,I ascend to my Father and your Father, and to my God and your God. John 20:17 – KJV

 

Meisternoli (1)

Mary Magdalene and Jesus, “Noli me Tangere”, altarpiece from Magdalenenkirche in Hildesheim, by Meister des Göttinger Barfüßeraltars c. 1410

This scene is one of the most mysterious in the New Testament: Christ appears to Mary Magdalene after His resurrection but bids her not to touch him, or to stop clinging to him. The scene is both very beautiful and very spooky.

 This year is the first that the saint’s day has been elevated to a feast within the Roman  Catholic Church.  For some reason, however, people continue to believe that Mary Magdalene was a prostitute – she wasn’t.

Schongauer,_Martin_-_Noli_me_tangere_(detail)

Noli Me Tangere, Martin Schongauer, 1473

I would love to believe, however, that she did appear from the sea in the South of France – I like intrepid women.

This entry was posted in Art, Bible, Catholic Feasts, Christ, Legend, New Testament and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

