Job

 

Jan Mandijn - Job and His Tormentors

Jan Mandijn – Job and His Tormentors

 

This is today’s reading:

 

1 In the end it was Job who broke the silence and cursed the day of his birth.

2 This is what he said:

3 Perish the day on which I was born and the night that told of a boy conceived.

11 Why was I not still-born, or why did I not perish as I left the womb?

12 Why were there knees to receive me, breasts for me to suck?

13 Now I should be lying in peace, wrapped in a restful slumber,

14 with the kings and high viziers of earth who have built their dwellings in desolate places,

15 or with princes who have quantities of gold and silver cramming their tombs;

16 or, put away like an abortive child, I should not have existed, like little ones that never see the light.

17 Down there, the wicked bustle no more, there the weary rest.

20 Why give light to a man of grief? Why give life to those bitter of heart,

21 who long for a death that never comes, and hunt for it more than for buried treasure?

22 They would be glad to see the grave-mound and shout with joy if they reached the tomb.

23 Why give light to one who does not see his way, whom God shuts in all alone?

 

There’s quite a bit more like this in the Book of Job. I am sure we can all empathise with Job, in our own small ways.  What did he do? He dismissed his ‘comforters’ and listened to the Lord.

“I know that you can do all things,
    and that no purpose of yours can be thwarted.
‘Who is this that hides counsel without knowledge?’
Therefore I have uttered what I did not understand,
    things too wonderful for me, which I did not know.
‘Hear, and I will speak;
    I will question you, and you make it known to me.’
I had heard of you by the hearing of the ear,
    but now my eye sees you;
therefore I despise myself,
    and repent in dust and ashes.”

Quite so.

 

Laurent de la Hyre - Job restored to prosperity

Laurent de la Hyre – Job Restored To Prosperity

 

 

This entry was posted in Art, Bible, Old Testament and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

