The Hand of Christ

The hand of Christ shown in icons with crossed fingers is raised in blessing: “the fingers spell out spell out “IC XC”, a widely used four letter abbreviation of the Greek for Jesus (IHCOYC) Christ (XPICTOC)”  –     from this lovely blog: A Reader’s Guide to Orthodox Icons.

File:Christ Pantocrator Deesis mosaic Hagia Sophia.jpg

Christ Pantocrator from Haghia Sophia, Istanbul

I was wondering about whether this is partly why we cross our fingers for luck. Where I grew up, it was ‘unlucky’ to cross the fingers of both hands. I have no idea why.

Image rights here

This entry was posted in Art, Christ, Icons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hand of Christ

  1. Biltrix says:

    I love icons and really get into the gestures and all the details, but I never made the association with crossing fingers before. I was told we crossed fingers, because well, it made a cross.

    Like

    • Yes, granted! I just don’t know why we kids made up the additional rule not to cross the fingers of both hands: there was some work done on regional variation in skipping games/rhymes, local ‘rules’ etcetera…I’ll have to look it up. Thanks for your comment, Biltrix

      Like

Leave a comment